In 1938, The National Association of Employees of Collectors of the Internal Revenue (NAECIR) was established to improve working conditions, and ensure fair wages and job security for federal revenue officers. 

When the revenue collection agency was re-organized as the Internal Revenue Service in 1952, NAECIR broadened its scope to include all IRS workers and adopted a shorter name-the National Association of Internal Revenue Employees (NAIRE). NAIRE received its charter as a federal employee union in 1967. 

In 1973, the union expanded again to include members throughout the Treasury Department. The organization’s name was updated to the National Treasury Employees Union (NTEU) to reflect the change. In 1975, NTEU merged with the National Customs Service Association, which brought in the first non-IRS members. 

In 1977, members voted to strengthen the union by moving beyond the Treasury Department to organize employees in other federal agencies. In 1978, employees of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) became the first members outside the Treasury Department.

Today, local NTEU chapters operate in every state, Canada, the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia, NTEU currently represents employees in: 

  • Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
  • Agriculture Stabilization and Conservation Service (ASCS)
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF)
  • Bureau of Public Debt (BPD)
  • U.S. Customs Service (USCS)
  • Department of Energy (DOE)
  • Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
  • Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
  • Federal Election Commission (FEC)
  • Financial Management Services (FMS)
  • Food and Consumer Service (FCS)
  • Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
  • Patent and Trademark Office (PTO)
  • Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC)
  • Social Security Administration (SSA)